PACER Plus Implementation Unit E-commerce implementation package

Cook Islands, Kiribati, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu

About the Program

The Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER) Plus (the Agreement) is a landmark trade and development Agreement that was signed in 2017 by the following countries: Australia, Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu. The Agreement covers goods, services, and investment. It aims to lower barriers to trade, provide greater certainty for businesses, raise living standards, create jobs and increase exports across the Pacific.

Start and End Date


Geographical Focus

Cook Islands, Kiribati, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu

Main Beneficiary

Government and Private Sector




Australia, New Zealand

Implementing Agency

Contact Person

Luke Marston
Design & Development Adviser

Policy Area

PA1. E-commerce Readiness & Strategy Formulation
PA3. Trade Logistics and Trade Facilitation
PA4. Legal & Regulatory Framework

Strategic Output

  • 1.1. National E-commerce strategies are developed and implemented in FICs, which are built on domestic consensus and inspired by the Regional E-commerce Strategy and Roadmap
    • 3.1. Trade procedures relevant to cross-border E-commerce are digitized and harmonized across FICs
    • , 3.2. Logistics systems relevant to E-commerce are strengthened and their cost to business reduced
  • 4.1. E-commerce-related laws are made or amended based on UNCITRAL model laws as best international standard, plus other best international practices


Individual Projects Under the Program

There are no projects attached to this program.

Get In Touch